Peppers and onion and sausage, oh my!

DSCN1163 DSCN1164

The other night I cooked up a dinner that could be summed up in one word: YUM! I never use that word. In fact, I have a weird aversion to it, probably because it tends to be overused. But that’s how much I loved what I made. It really all started with a bag of Marie Calendar’s Corn Bread mix that I bought. It was sitting in the pantry, pleading for me to make it. So I decided to follow my Southwest kick and bring in some peppers and sausage to the party.

First, I julienned four bell peppers (two red, one green, one yellow), and sliced up some yellow onion. In a big skillet, I sautéed the onion alone with some butter, garlic and s&p. After a few minutes, I added the bell pepper along with a little thyme, oregano, and a little more salt and garlic. I have a thing about not adding pepper to cooking bell peppers. I don’t know if it makes any sense, but about a year and a half ago I stopped and I like them better with a lower black pepper profile. Then I took a Hillshire Farms smoked turkey sausage and cut it on the bias. I like doing this mostly for the look. Because it was precooked, I didn’t have to worry about it too much. Of course, I am a genius and planned for everything to come out at the same time (which almost never happens the way I want it to–usually something needs longer than I planned or something cooks waaay faster than I thought it would). The two dishes made a delicious plate, and a bit of heartburn the next morning, but I didn’t even care.

Leave a Reply

