Grandma’s Refrigerator Pickles

pickles

Five years ago, my grandmother shared her recipe for “refrigerator pickles” with me, and now I’m sharing it with you. I don’t remember when she started making them, but they are my favorite homemade pickles. A big plus is that they are SUPER simple to make. Like a kindergartner could do these. Maybe it’s something to do with the kids?

So here’s what you need:

  • 3 medium cucumbers-or-2 English cucumbers (I prefer the English cucumbers)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 medium green bell pepper (optional)
  • 1 Tbsp salt
  • 2 Tsp celery seed
  • 3/4 C white sugar
  • 1/2 C white vinegar

Start by peeling and slicing the cucumbers into 1/4 inch slices, as well as thinly slicing the onion. I’ve never done the bell pepper, but it’s on the recipe my grandmother gave me. If you choose to include them, a julienne is the way to go. Once it’s all sliced, put the veg in a Tupperware container with the salt and celery seed and stir to coat. Cover and leave on the counter or in a cool place (not the fridge though) for an hour.

After the hour is us, mix the sugar and vinegar together and pour over the veg. Recover the container and refrigerate. They should be ready in 24 hours. Don’t use a stainless steel bowl for this. It will affect the flavor.

See how simple? They are delicious and last quite a while. If you try with the pepper, let me know how it comes out!

One thought on “Grandma’s Refrigerator Pickles

  1. Pingback: My 100th post! | Rebecca's Kitchen Escapades

Leave a Reply

