National Pie Day

More from Eat the Year! Today is National Pie Day. Now that I think about it, I maybe should have saved yesterday’s post for today. Oh well. Doesn’t mean I can’t share one more photo of that pie. I’m so proud of how well it came out!

IMG_4591

I was hoping to share a funny thing today, but I couldn’t find my copy of it. Years ago I was at my grandparents’ house in Washington and my grandmother made a pie. It was Christmas time, and as we sat around eating it, we composed a Baker’s Prayer. It was our own irreverent version of the Lord’s Prayer. I had hoped to find the paper I wrote it down on, but it seems to have gone missing. It might be worth mentioning that my grandfather was a minister for several years, as was my grandmother’s father. We shared our “prayer” with our own pastor when we got home (to California at the time), who was thoroughly amused as well. If I find it soon, I’ll make sure to share it with you.

On a totally different note, I think I should actually talk a bit about pie on National Pie Day. My personal favorite, as much as I love apple pie, is actually Olallieberry pie. According to Wikipedia, “The olallieberry is a cross between the loganberry and the youngberry, each of which is itself a cross between blackberry and another berry (raspberry and dewberry, respectively).” It’s sweeter than your average blackberry, but not overly so. Polly’s Pies is the first and only place I’ve ever had the pie. Olallieberries have a very short season over the early summer, but if you can catch it and have a pie or just some of the berries, you’ll understand why I enjoy this pie so much.

What’s your favorite pie?

Leave a Reply

