National Cereal Day

Raise your spoons with me! Thank to Eat the Year, I know that today is the day to celebrate my love of cereal! Cereal and I go way back. Like every kid, I picked out the marshmallows from Lucky Charms, listened intently to the snap, crackle and pop of Rice Krispies, and begged my mom to buy the way too sugary Cinnamon Toast Crunch. That being said, my favorite cereal for the longest time (and still in my top five favorites) was Honey Nut Cheerios. They’ve got the perfect amount of sweetness, crunch, and nuttiness. Since I’ve had to switch to dairy alternative milks-primarily soy milk-my taste in cereals have changed.

Things do taste a bit different with soy instead of dairy. I think I taste the sugar more than I did before, which can be a plus for some of the more “serious” cereals-your Raisin Bran, Chex, Kellogg’s Corn Flakes-but can kill the joy of the likes of Fruit Loops and Lucky Charms. As of late, my go to is Honey Bunches of Oats (neatly abbreviated to HBOO on my grocery list-ha). It’s just serious enough for my 25 years (it’s got granola!), but still a bit irresponsibly sweet.

What’s your favorite cereal? Will you celebrate today with a bowl?

Leave a Reply

